Arizona SR22 Insurance

Arizona SR-22

What will require an SR-22 form?

  • Driving under the influence of drugs/alcohol (DUI)
  • Involved in accident causing injury or death
  • Reckless driving
  • Refusal of chemical BAC test
  • Habitual offender

What if I let my SR22 insurance policy cancel or lapse?

If during the required probation period you let the auto insurance policy that has the SR22 attached cancel or lapse your license will be suspended. Jail time and more fees may be a result and most likely you will need to start the probation period over again.

How long do I need to have an SR22 in Arizona?

You must maintain an SR22 for three years from the date of suspension unless otherwise stated in the judgment. Suspension requirements vary from case to case so be sure to contact the state for your specific judgment.

How much will my car insurance increase if I need an SR22 form?

Your car insurance is likely to increase due to the nature of the violation that is causing you to file an SR-22. If you were convicted of a DUI or reckless driving your premiums will increase substantially. If you were involved in an accident and need to file an SR22 your premiums will probably not be as high. The easiest way to know is get multiple quotes from leading companies, we offer a free service just enter your zip code above.

SR-22 Quotes:

Arizona SR22 Requirements

The state of Arizona requires all SR22 forms to meet a minimum liability insurance level. The minimum limits are:

    • $15k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $30k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $10k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

You will need to get your SR-22 from a licensed insurance carrier in Arizona. These insurance companies will provide the state with the required filing information and status updates if the policy is cancelled. Remember you will need to restart the probation period if the policy is cancelled and could face possible jail time.

Arizona now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.

Suspended License Information and Reinstatement

In order to reinstate your license there may be multiple documents and steps needed to be completed. If it is a court ordered suspension you will need clearance from the court and possibly an SR-22 form showing proof of liability insurance.

In order to reinstate a license due to failure to maintain proper insurance you will need to obtain an SR22 from an insurance carrier. This insurance company must operate in the state of Arizona.

You may be asked to take a written and/or road skills test. Reinstatement fees vary so be sure to ask the state office. If all requirements have been met to reinstate except paying the fees you can reinstate online.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Arizona

The state of Arizona follows presumptions with regards to driving under the influence. Below is a list of presumptions based on the driver's blood alcohol concentration:

  • Not under the influence - BAC level .001% to .05%
  • Admissible as evidence in court - BAC level .051% to .099%
  • Presumed under the influence - BAC level .10% or higher
  • Commercial driver is presumed under the influence - BAC level .04% or higher

Implied Consent Law

If you refuse to submit a chemical test in Arizona the following is true:

  • Minimum 30 day suspension of driver's license for BAC .10% or higher
  • Officer must advise driver of suspension period
  • License is seized upon refusal of test

Extreme DUI in Arizona

For any driver with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) .15% or higher within two hours of driving is considered to be an Extreme DUI. Keep in mind that Arizona DUI/DWI laws are written for vehicles including watercraft and aircraft. There are different penalties for this type of conviction:

IID Required
1st $2400 Revocation for 1 year Yes
2nd $1700 Suspension from 90 days to 1 year Yes

Fines include applicable surcharges, DUI assessment, and extreme DUI assessment fees. The second conviction must be within 5 years of the first to fall into the group above or it is considered the first offense again.

Arizona SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

State Resources

Motor Vehicle Division

Driver License Office Locations

Online Motor Vehicle Record

Reinstate Online


SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?


SR22 by State


New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Washington D.C.
West Virginia