Iowa SR22 Insurance

Iowa SR22

Future proof of financial responsibility is required from the first day of your suspension and lasts two years. There are a few different ways to fulfill your requirement to show financial responsibility including:

  • File form SR-22 with the Office of Driver Services
  • File a surety bond equal to $55,000
  • Proof of insurance from your employer insurance company including an SR-22 form

The most common is an SR-22 filed with the state on your own insurance policy. This is just an add-on to an existing or new auto insurance policy and carries a cost of approximately $25 to add.

What is a violation of OWI law in Iowa?

First Iowa's OWI law states it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or having a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or higher.

How much is SR-22 insurance in Iowa?

The cost to add an SR-22 form on an auto insurance policy can be as little as $15 but usually costs $25-$50 depending on the insurance company you choose. The cost of the auto insurance is going to be the most expensive part especially if you have just been convicted of a OWI. Check with local insurance companies to get quotes and compare rates or use our free service to get up to 5 quotes from top companies today.

SR22 Insurance Quotes:

Iowa SR22 Insurance Requirements

The state of Iowa requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $20k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $40k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $15k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Iowa now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.

Suspended License Information and Requirements

License suspension and revocation information is shared with all 50 states. You cannot issue a driver's license if you have an active suspension. There is no notification when the suspension has ended as that information is on the letter you receive when action is first taken. In order to reinstate your license know your eligibility date and specific reinstatement requirements. This information can be found on the letter or from the information at the court hearing.

Court ordered suspensions require a clearance from the court while other suspensions may require an SR-22. You may be asked to take a written and/or road skills test. Reinstatement fees vary so be sure to ask the state office. If all requirements have been met to reinstate except paying the fees you can reinstate online.

Iowa Driver's License Reinstatement Process

Once you have served your suspension/revocation period and any other court ordered requirements it is a good idea to get a copy of your motor vehicle record. Then you can contact the nearest MVD to see what your next steps include.

You are likely required to bring a proof of insurance including an SR22 filing to the motor vehicle department. Be sure to have this policy in force prior to visiting the MVD so they can see it in the computer system. It may take up to 2 days for the insurance company to electronically post the SR22 to your record.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Iowa

In Iowa driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs is unlawful if over a certain blood alcohol content (BAC). The following are limits set by law depending on the type of driver:

All Drivers - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
Minor Drivers (under age 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.01%
Commercial Drivers - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%

DUI Insurance Quotes:

Implied Consent Law

If you refuse to submit a chemical test in Iowa your license will be suspended/revoked for the following timeframe:

First Refusal - 1 month suspension, 90 day waiting period for temporary license, must install an ignition interlock device

Second Refusal - 2 year suspension, 1 year waiting period for temporary license, must install an ignition interlock device

2010 Iowa DUI Laws

House File 2452 - Relating to Ignition Interlock Device, Effective July 1, 2010

Relates to driver's license sanctions, including the issuance of temporary restricted licenses and certain requirements relating to ignition interlock devices, and provides a penalty. Any driver whose BAC is .10% or higher is required to install an ignition interlock device of a type approved by the commissioner of public safety on all vehicles owned or operated by the defendant if the defendant seeks a temporary restricted license.

House File 2233 - Relating to expunging the conviction for certain alcohol-related offenses, Effective July 1, 2010

Upon the expiration of two years following conviction for a violation a person may petition the court to exonerate the person of expunge the conviction, and if the person has had no other criminal convictions it will be expunged from record.

Required to get an Ignition Interlock Device?

In certain cases drivers will be required to obtain and use an IID or ignition interlock device. This device is an electronic breathalyzer that requires the driver to provide a breath sample before the vehicle will start. It will also randomly request additional samples while driving. If the breath sample exceeds the limits set by the machine it will not start the vehicle or continue to operate.

Usually drivers are responsible for the cost of the unit and installation but reference the Iowa Public Safety Department for rules and requirements.

Iowa Ignition Interlock Device Providers:

Guardian Interlock > 1-800-849-5465
Lifesafer Interlock > 1-800-369-3661
Draeger Interlock > 1-800-622-2526
CST Intoxalock > 1-877-777-5020

For a complete list of approved IID's view the pdf at Iowa's Commissioner of Public Safety site.

Iowa SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

State Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver's License Office Locations

Driving Record Certified Copy


SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?


SR22 by State


New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Washington D.C.
West Virginia