Maine SR22 Insurance

Maine SR22

Maine state law requires any driver convicted of operating a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol to maintain an SR22 insurance policy for a minimum of three (3) years. In addition to an OUI a driver may need an SR22 for the following violations:

  • Reckless driving
  • Leaving an accident in which you were an involved party
  • No insurance or failure to provide proof
  • Exceeding the point limit on your driver's license
  • Other violations that require an SR22 in Maine

Do not let the insurance policy lapse or cancel as the provider will notify the state and your license will be suspended again. The SR22 is an add on to a standard auto insurance policy that guarantees the state will be notified of any change in status and is commonly referred to as a future financial responsibility filing. You can change insurance companies but be sure to get a new SR22 filed before the old one is cancelled.

SR22 Quotes:

What if my Maine SR22 insurance policy is cancelled?

If you fail to keep your SR-22 auto insurance policy current the insurance company will notify the Maine BMV. Once the state is aware you have cancelled your policy they will likely revoke or suspend your driver's license.

Maine SR22 Requirements

The state of Maine requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:

    • $50k Per Person Bodily Injury
    • $100k Per Accident Bodily Injury
    • $25k Property Damage

While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.

Maine now accepts electronic proof of insurance during traffic stops.

Suspended License Information and Requirements

License suspension and revocation information is shared with all 50 states. You cannot issue a driver's license if you have an active suspension. There is no notification when the suspension has ended as that information is on the letter you receive when action is first taken. In order to reinstate your license know your eligibility date and specific reinstatement requirements. This information can be found on the letter or from the information at the court hearing. Some reinstatements can be done at local Driver's License offices such as:
    • Unpaid Tickets
    • Child Support
    • Point Suspensions
If you are mailing in an application be sure to complete the Application for Reinstatement and include a check or money order for $95 plus any specific requirements like an SR22.

Maine DUI Law and OUI Law

Under Maine driving laws, it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle with a BAC limit above the stated limit. BAC stands for blood alcohol content. The following are limits set by law:

All Drivers - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
Minor Drivers (under age 21) - Zero Tolerance
Commercial Drivers - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%

If you are under the age of 21 operating a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol your license will be suspended for a minimum of 1 year. There is a zero tolerance policy which means any alcohol found in your system is considered an OUI. Be sure not to drive if you have taken medication such as cold medicine which can contain a small amount of alcohol.

DUI Insurance Quotes:

2010 Maine DUI Laws

Maine House Bill 1137 - Ignition Interlock Devices

Any person who has committed their 2nd or 3rd offense for driving under the influence may apply for early termination of a license suspension. Conditions apply such as meeting a specified date of the offense and installing an ignition interlock device on the vehicle operated by the person.

Maine Ignition Interlock Device Program

Ignition interlock devices must be installed on any vehicle operated by anyone who has been convicted of certain alcohol-related offenses. This device detects alcohol on breath and is installed on a motor vehicle. It will prevent an alcohol-impaired person from starting the vehicle and may require random tests to be completed during a drive.

For more information regarding Maine Ignition Interlock Device call:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Driver License Services Division
29 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0029

(207) 624-9000 ext. 52104

TTY: 877-456-8195

Approved Ignition Interlock Device Installers:

Maine SR22

SR22 Articles

5 Ways to Reduce the Cost of SR22 Insurance

Learn About SR22 Insurance

FR44 Form for Florida and Virginia

Tips to Find Cheap SR22 Insurance Online

How to Remove or Cancel SR22 Filing Without Being Penalized

Will My Auto Insurance Company Drop Me After A DUI?

State Resources

Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Maine Driver's License Office Locations

Maine Driving Record Copy

Maine Motor Vehicle Laws


SR22 Insurance FAQs

What is an SR-22?

Where do I get cheap SR22 insurance?

Can I get an SR-22 if I don't own a car?

How long is the SR-22 valid?

How much does SR22 insurance cost?

What if I move to another state, do I need an SR22?

Can I switch insurance companies when I have an SR22?

Who needs an SR22?

Is SR22 insurance valid in multiple states?

Do I need an SR 22 for each vehicle I own?


SR22 by State


New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Washington D.C.
West Virginia